Skip To Main Content

Recent Updates

Town Administrator Selected

Completing the interview process with two finalists, the Select Board has selected Scott Szczebak to be the new Town Administrator to replace Ed Gibson who is retiring at the end of February.  Scott will start on Feb. 22nd and have a week overlap.

Budget FY 2024

Annual Town Report 2022





General Responsibilities and Duties

The Select Board consists of five members elected by the voters for three-year overlapping terms. The Select Board is the chief executive body of the Town. It is responsible for the general direction of the Town government, enacting rules and regulations to establish and implement town policies unless such powers are specifically assigned to some other office or agency.

The Select Board is responsible for approving all personnel policy guidelines and regulations. It also has responsibility for hiring town employees in the departments for which is has responsibility.

The Select Board issue the warrants for Town Meetings and may make recommendations on various warrant articles; initiate legislative policy by inserting articles in Town Meeting warrants and then implement the votes subsequently adopted. The Select Board make appointments of members for most boards and committees and hold public hearings on important town issues. The Select Board also serve as the licensing board responsible for issuing and renewing liquor licenses.

The Select Board, acting as the chief executive board of the town, has certain powers and duties under state statute. To read these laws please visit the Massachusetts State Website which provides an online catalog of Massachusetts General Laws (MGL), by Chapter (C) and Section (s/§).

Calendar-Reports to Select Board

Select Board Department and Committee Report Calendar FY 2024


ARPA Fund Information




Farewell to Ed Gibson

Town employees and volunteers gathered for a farewell and retirement luncheon on February 28.  Senator Velis and Representative Pease sent their staff to present citations from the Mass. Senate and House to Ed recognizing his years of municipal service; as Mayor of West Springfield and Town Administrator of both Beckett and Southampton. The Select Board Chair prepared a retrospective of the various projects and improvements that occurred in Southampton during Ed's six-year tenure. Read here.

Town Administrator Search Process

Town Administrator Selection:  

Following the interview process, the Select Board offered the position to Scott Szczebak. He has accepted and signed an agreement to serve through June 2027. Scott started his municipal work in Chicopee, first as Mayoral aide and then Human Resources Director from 2008-2014. He then served in the same role for the town of Wellesley from 2014-2023. He is currently the Personnel Director for the city of Lawrence. Scott has a BA. in government and political science from UMASS and his law degree from Western New England College. He and his family live in Palmer.

Candidate Interviews:  click on this link to watch the interviews of the finalists on January 13, 2023.

Town Overview Reference   This document provides potential TA candidates and the public at large an overview of the town, major projects in the pipeline and its current challenges.

The Select Board has engaged Community Paradigm Associates LLC to carry out the Executive Search process for the next Town Administrator. This is the anticipated process to have a person ready to take on this role in January 2024 upon Ed Gibson's retirement. Below is the process we will follow:

First page of the PDF file: SouthamptonTARecruitmentFlowChart2




Fire Department Operational Review Study 2023

Pequot Pond Sewer System Design Report – Update October 11, 2022

Pequot Pond Sewer System Financing Options

Fiber Optic Internet Presentation: Richard Cardel Sr. Whip City Fiber from June 25, 2019 Select Board Meeting

Wastewater Presentation/Small Sewer Systems: Mary Louise Monahan & Kurt Mailman – Fuss & O’Neill from June 25, 2019 Select Board Meeting


Select Board Fee Schedule 2023

Weights and Measures

Contacting the Select Board

Office Hours: Monday-Thursday 8:30am-4pm
Phone: (413) 529-0106
Fax: (413) 529-1006

Office Staff


Mailing Address:
Select Board
210 College Highway, Suite 7
Southampton, MA 01073

Members of the Select Board

Position Name Term Expires
Chair Christine Fowles 2025
Vice-Chair Jon Lumbra 2024
Warrant Clerk Alternate Joy Piper 2024
Clerk Daniel LaValley 2026
Warrant Clerk Stephen Johnson 2026