Skip To Main Content

Public Safety Building Committee

Recent Updates




General Responsibilities and Duties

Public Safety Building Committee Charge

The Committee, which reports to the Select Board, is composed of 11 voting members; the Police Chief, the Fire Chief, and one each representing the Select Board, the Historical Commission, the Finance Committee, the Council on Aging or the Friends of the COA, as well as five members of the community or the surrounding area with experience in engineering, construction, architecture, financial management or previous public safety experience. The Town Administrator is ex-officio, non-voting. Appointments shall be staggered one to three year terms. 

The Committee shall make efforts to educate the residents of the Town on the need for this facility and to understand current perception of the need and then develop a plan in accordance with the findings.

The Committee shall research and recommend two locations, giving priority to town owned land, to the Select Board - Once a location is approved by the Select Board a new charge for the Committee will be issued.

The Committee shall assist the Select Board in presentations at Town Meetings, Budget Meetings, Public forums, etc. as needed.

Meetings are called based on needs. Please look at MyTownGovernment website for scheduled meetings.

Reports & Documents

Informing and Engaging Southampton's Citizens 

Plans are underway. Please watch this section. 

The Public Safety Building Committee

Phone: (413) 529-0106

Mailing Address:
Public Safety Building Committee
Town Hall
210 College Highway
Southampton, MA 01073

Members of the Public Safety Building Committee

Position Name Term Expires
Police Chief Ian Illingsworth 6/30/2024
Fire Chief Richard Fasoli UNCH
Senior/COA Rep. Cindy Palmer 6/30/2026
Finance Rep. Vacant  
Historical Com. Rep. Vacant 6/30/2023
Select Board Rep. Chris Fowles 6/30/2024
Chair Mark Darnold 6/30/2024
At Large Charles Kaniecki 6/30/2024
At Large Kristina Madsen 6/30/2025
At Large John O’Shea 6/30/2024
At Large Mark Mancino 6/30/2024
Town Admin. Ex Officio Edward Gibson 6/30/2024