Skip To Main Content

Planning Board

Recent Updates



General Responsibilities and Duties

The Planning Board consists of five members elected by the residents of the town for overlapping five year terms. The responsibilities of the Planning Board encompass the overall planning for the use of land and resources within the town.

These responsibilities include activities such as acting as the Permit Granting Authority, reviewing and approving Subdivision Plans, and reviewing all preliminary and definitive plan submittals; accepting ANR (Approval Not Required) Plans. In additional, this board has the responsibility of developing various long-term planning tools for the community such as Zoning By-Law, Rules and Regulations, Subdivision Regulations, and other similar documents that used by town to help guide and manage growth.



The Planning Board is an elected, voluntary Town Board.

We have no office hours.

Please inquire at the Building Department ( Zoning Officer ) for further information regarding your project or development.

Public meetings are every  First and Third Wednesdays at 7:00 p.m. at Town Hall.

( July and August : third Wednesday )

Please make your inquiries to our email:
or call (413) 535-6068 (after 4:00PM).

Agenda items and applications filed with the Town Clerk must be submitted Wednesdays prior to the meeting by 4:00 p.m. Additionally, Electronic files are to be submitted to the Board email.

Documents and Applications

Subdivision Checklist

Checklists of materials required to be submitted:


Zoning By-Laws

   ( Zoning By-Laws 3-15-2018 )

Contacting the Planning Board


Mailing Address:
Planning Board  
Town Hall Suite 7
210 College Highway
Southampton, MA 01073

Members of the Planning Board

Select Board Liaison-Stephen Johnson

Position Name Term Expires
Chair Paul Diemand 2029
Vice-Chair Paul Furgal 2027
Secretary Dan LaValley 2025
  Stephen Johnson 2026
  Mark Darnold 2028

Links of Interest

Pioneer Valley Planning Commission